Posted by: ryno442 | July 23, 2008

Doctor’s office employee charged with identity theft, stole patient’s social security numbers

Louisville,Ky. (WHAS11) – It’s proof that identify theft can strike at the places where you should feel most safe. Erika Bradford’s facing charges of ID theft after allegedly stealing patient’s social security numbers at the doctor’s office where she worked. Bradford then opened credit cards in the victim’s names.

We’ve all filled them out – new patient forms that ask for your address, your social security number, your birthday and sometimes your spouse’s personal information. You trust your doctor with your life; you’d think you could trust them with that information. But can you trust the doctor’s staff? And what’s being done to make sure your identity’s not stolen during a check-up?

“Do you ever wonder how you’re being protected against identity theft?” WHAS11’s Adrianna Hopkins asked Fred Veatch.

“Usually you feel alright there, at a doctor’s office,” says Veatch.

“No I’ve never given it that much thought to be honest with you,” said another lady.

“They’ve got everything – social security, address, birthdays, insurance… Everything,” says Andreana Mills.

‘But if you had any doubts, what would you do? You know what I mean?” asked Veatch.

Yes! Because most doctors require that information before they treat you. But some offices like Deer Park Family doctors realize just how vulnerable paperwork makes patients.

“This is what we keep in files,” explained Dr. Terry Weiss of Deer Park Family Doctors who showed us a cabinet full of brochures. “We use electronic medical records. We can make sure there are no charts with patient names on it.”

“Who all has access to that database?” asked Hopkins.

“The licensed professionals in the office. We certainly understand people’s concern. Many people don’t want to give their social security numbers because of the ID theft issue. So we give them makeup numbers. We have to give them a number though because everything’s accessed by numbers now,” explained Weiss.

“That’s one way you protect against ID theft… Any other ways?” Hopkins asked.

“Yes, we have raised counters to people can’t see any notes with patient names on them.”

“And you trust everyone in your staff?”

“Absolutely… Absolutely,” said Weiss.

add to del.icio.usDigg itStumble It!Add to Blinkslistadd to furladd to ma.gnoliaadd to simpyseed the vineTailRank


Responses

  1. To whom it may concern;

    I live in Las Vegas NV, and I’m a victim of identity thief. My doctors employee had stole my personal information from my medical file, including my debit card and drivers license they made copy’s of and drained my bank account, and ran up cell phones in my name, also was using my social security number to work, when i was on disability. which caused me to loose a year and a half of back pay when i was approved for disability. and they caught the two employees who did this they also stole 42k from my doctor. but i feel my doctor is also to blame for not protecting my personal information. How do I go about suing my doctor for allowing such people to work for them is there a name for this I cant find much online about this huge problem. But they stole over 16k from me in a 2 year period, and they are out on bail and they continue to drain my bank accounts, so now I owe two banks money that I had in there but they were with drawing it as fast as it went in. If anyone can please lead me in the right direction on where to turn to in this case. I’m just sick about this and don’t know what rights i have. thank you,
    Sincerely,
    Lauri Fox

    • I had the exact same thing happen to me. I am having problems finding an attorney to represent me. Have you found a lawyer?
      Tracy Brown


Leave a comment

Categories